top of page
dof-banner.png
Search

Meet the Member Monday - GATE-7~HOOLIGANS aka Ultra

Welcome to our weekly blog about DoF members.

We hope that these blogs will entertain you as well as help you in getting to know our members and DoF better.

We asked Ultra 15 standard questions from our

Meet the Member blog questionnaire

and then we gave chance to our members to ask 5 specific questions.

 

Hello, my name is Mario, I'm 24 years old from Greece! I'm studying nutrition and dietetics at university and doing boxing since 2014. But also much of my time is dedicated to pc gaming which I do since the first pc we had at home and it was my brothers (had windows 98 on it) and first game I played was Age of Empires. I have always been a huge fan of strategy games (especially Age of Empires, Total War Games and Lord of the Rings Battle for Middle Earth). I discovered Mount and Blade in 2006 after some videos I watched by luck. As for Warband, I took it on release date and played singleplayer with mods mostly the first years. After I started taking it more seriously and started playing competitively. My first clan was BrC back in 2013! My greek friends Beerlover and Koma invited me! A good clan with a lot of skilled players back then. I'm grateful that I've been a member of this clan cause everything I learnt I owe to them (Sammac, 304bl, HeathenHeart, Fritz_von_Lakritz, Kaheshie), they taught me the basics in the beginning and they helped me a lot to become a good player as time went on. But unfortunately after a year and half, the clan was inactive and I had to search for another. None of them was like BrC. I don't remember the exact order but after BrC I played for WQ, IR. I played as friend in some matches with Boris, Waringham and Hopkiin but didn't join cause most of them were speaking German during scrims. I used IR_ApatiCrew as a name. I also applied for IG (but didn't know they had a new "captain" in battles called Monopolish) but they never accepted me cause my name was offensive they said, lol, and the few friends I had in IG were not enough to overcome the votes. And after all these finally DoF knocked my door in 2015.


Favorite Quote/Line: "If it were not for the bravery of the Greeks and their courage, the outcome of World War II would be undetermined. Hence, we will not say that Greeks fight like heroes,but that heroes fight like Greeks" - Sir Winston Churchill


1. How and why did you join DoF? It was 2015, I was searching for a proper clan after my favourite BrC was inactive. So if I remember well I met Erminas and another member (that I don't remember name of) on DoF servers or a random server. And I wasn't on the same team with DoFs. We were fighting each other and I made a good impression to them and I also showed respect cause they were good players and friendly at the same time! And that same day me and Erminas became friends on steam and he invited me to DoF.

2. Favorite moment(s) in DoF? All scrims I took part on Warband and every time I play with DoF on teamspeak I enjoy it!!! I also enjoyed when then first day I took Battlefield 1 and downloaded it (first battlefield I ever played). I joined to play with Kohath, Viglaf and White Noise and I was the newbie of the squad haha.

3. Favorite book? I never read a full story book. I only like history books and read many about ancient history medieval and Napoleonic era.. Also about WW1 and WW2.

4. Favorite movies and tv shows? Movies:

Lord of the Rings trilogy and Hobbit trilogy, Pirates of the Caribbean the first 3 movies, Gladiator, Arthur, Ironclad, Braveheart, The Last Samurai, Patriot, Dances with wolves, The Good the Bad and the Ugly, A fistful of Dollars, American Outlaws, The assassination of Jesse James, Last of the Mohicans, American History X, Joan of Arc, Arn the Knight Templar, Kingdom of Heaven, Robin Hood, Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time, 300 and Troy (although not 100% historical accurate), Alexander the Great, The 13th Warrior, Blade II, Resident Evil, Asterix and Obelix films, The Pianist, Saving Private Ryan, Enemy at the Gates, Dunkirk, Scarface, The GodFather Trilogy, Green Street Hooligans 1+2, Football Factory, Okolofutbola, Million Dollar Baby, Muhammad Ali, Southpaw, Trainspotting, How high and many historical documentaries !!!

Tv shows: Vikings, The Last Kingdom and Top Boy.

5. Favorite music? I can listen to almost everything but mostly I listen to rap music! For me who listens to one type of music exclusively does not know how to listen to music!!

6. Favorite food and drink?

Food: burgers, souvlakia, pizza, carbonara <3

drinks:Ouzo, Raki, Vodka-my fav is the polish Zubrowka, Gin, Beer, Tequila, Rum and Whiskey.

7. Favorite color? Red of course !!!

8. Favorite time of the year? Winter.

9. Are you sport or esports fan and if so what are your favorite sports and teams? I am sports fan. I support Olympiakos the most successful club in all sports worldwide. I used to follow my team everywhere. Football, Basketball men/women, Volleyball men/women, Waterpolo men/women and also boxing. Last 2 years I keep watching everything on tv cause Gate 7 (the hardcore part of the fans) is not like it used to be and many things have changed. As for esports I just play sometimes Fifa and Pro Evolution Soccer with friends..

10. Do you have any pets? No, cause I live in a city. If I lived permanently in my cottage in the village I would like to have more than 10 dogs (at least 3-4 for hunting rabbits in the mountains). Luckily I have a friend with 4 hunting dogs and we go together for hunting sometimes.

11. Place you would love to travel to? Serbia first of all (biggest reason i want to see the derby of Crvena Zvezda vs Partizan and be alongside my brothers from Delije (Zvezda hardcore fans) that I met some years ago when they came to Greece. Secondly I would like to visit Amsterdam (you all know the reason) and third on list is Russia but I would like to visit many countries and places, even here in Greece I want to visit places I never been to haha.

12. Most inspiring historical figure? Georgios Karaiskakis (Olympiakos, football stadium has his name) one of the Greek generals in the revolution against Turks in 1821 and King Leonidas of Sparta of course.

13. Favorite games? All historical Total War titles+dlcs, in some I also use very good mods (not Warhammer), Age of Empires II Definitive Edition, Age of Empires III and Age of Mythology, Lord of the Rings the Battle for Middle Earth I+II, Assassins Creed 1 2007, Revelations, Assassins Creed III and Assassins Creed Odyssey (not historical accurate 100% but I liked the atmosphere of the game) and I'm gonna buy Valhala for sure also, Mafia 1,2 (it will be remastered soon <3), Godfather, Scarface, Bully, GTA San Andreas, Vice City, GTA IV and GTA V, Battlefield 1, Call of Duty 2 and Call of Duty Wolrd at War, Medal of Honour, Day of Infamy, Forza Horizon 4 and of course Mount and Blade Warband !!! Its a shame I never tried Witcher 3, Skyrim and maybe something good that is missing from above xD

14. Describe your playing style? In Mount and Blade I play cav mostly and I like to support my team and humiliate enemy cav:p But first priority of course to be supportive, defend my teammates and don't die like a Legend hunting for kills:p

15. What will be your main class in Bannerlord? Cavalry again as was in Warband.

 

And now we will turn to the specific questions our members had for Ultra

 

16. Dangel asking: How is the corona virues pandemic affecting you/your country? When this started, luckily our government took measures very quickly which I didn't expect and closed us inside for about 2 months. We had less victims and infected people than many other countries and now hopefully we can go out but with attention. Luckily I had a pc to kill the hours I was at home.

17.Darin would like to know Have you ever left your home country and if so, how often and why?

I only traveled as tourist to Prague (when i was 16 with school) and it was very beautiful and also I visited Turin, Constantinople and London to watch my team Olympiakos. Last year I also went to Cyprus which is not that far but to visit a girl from Russia I met here in Greece. But I could never imagine me living in other country than Greece.

18. Otherworldly question by Viglaf: How does it feel to have the voice of a God?

Hahaha, I apologize for what you hear, this is because I speak from my camera microphone (I don't have a headset) and also in summertime I always open my ventilator cause its too hot.

19. Erminas is wondering How many sport events have you attended in your life? Good question. I don't remember hahaha, I've been attending football, basketball, volleyball, waterpolo matches since I was 5 years old. My older cousins took me with them.

20. I visited Greece once with my old-Greek course back in school but i definitely wanna return! Which places would you recommend as a native Greek is what White Noise is curious about?

I imagine that you visited Athens. If not, then Athens is worth to visit the many museums and ancient places such as the Acropolis and ancient Agora etc.The city is chaotic so not worth to stay more days after you visit all these. But I recommend almost all Greek islands cause each one has a unique beauty. Delphoi is also a nice historical site to visit I would recommend. I've been there 2 times and you have a unique feel that you are among the ancient Greek gods xD.

Me personally, I prefer the island of Crete and also the region of Peloponnese. Peloponnese has many more ancient sites to visit, such as ancient Olympia (Olympic games took place there), the ancient state of Mycenae, AkroKorinth (the Acropolis of Korinth), ancient Messene (the territory where the helots come from and it was occupied by Spartans), Argos and Tiryns has also some sites to see (very close to Mycenae). Sparta unfortunately has not many ancient places to visit (many destroyed from earthquakes) only some ruins and a nice museum, but 10 minutes away from Sparta you can visit the castle of Mystras (Vyzantine period). Peloponnese except many ancient sites (i might forget some too) it has many castles from Vyzantine and Frankish-Venetian period after fall of Constantinople to the Crusaders. Mystras in Sparta, Monemvasia also in Laconia (the territory where Sparta is located), Methoni and Koroni castles in Messene, Pylos Castle and Palamidi Castle in Nauplion. My favourite territory in Peloponesse is Mani Peninsula (its where I come from) - it is located in Laconia and is 40 min drive with car south of Sparta near the port Gytheion and more south till the end. This territory include more than 200 small villages (each village is dedicated to a big family living there) well maintained most of them using stone to build their house (also a very unique kind of stone with somehow red colour. I come from one of this villages and my home there is also built out of stone. Mani peninsula is proud that it never fell into the Turks before our independence and it is there where the revolution started in 1821. Why stone? Cause every house was also a fort back then. To defend, many had also a cannon on top of the house. Both Mani and Crete island had vendettas between families even in these days (not so much like before). So stone was also to defend from other families coming from other villages. Also the regions of Laconia and Messenia in Peloponesse have the best beaches in the interior of Greece, any kind of beach you can imagine with very clean waters.

White Noise if you ever decide to visit Greece again I would like to guide you to Peloponesse and explain everything :)

 

Thanks to Ultra for joining us for our weekly blog.

Next week's edition will be the last one from this Season, as we have interviewed almost all of DoF members that were willing to answers some questions for our readers!

So make sure to tune in for that very last blog interview next Monday!

We will be hosting Melling or Ser_Melling as he likes to be called.

Seeing as it will be the last blog, no pressure to make it the greatest ending of all time!

No pressure whatsoever Mel!

Thank you for reading this week's blog and we hope you enjoyed it!

 

If You were entertained while reading this blog please consider following us on Twitter, YouTube or Twitch. Or just sign up on our Site so that you can leave comments, likes and so much more! All the relevant links for these actions are above in the site's Header :)

99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page