top of page
dof-banner.png
Search

Meet the Member Monday - Earl Mc Greggor

Updated: Apr 10, 2022

Welcome to our weekly blog about DoF members.

We hope that these blogs will entertain you as well as help you in getting to know our members and DoF better.

We asked Earl 15 standard questions from our

Meet the Member blog questionnaire

and then we gave chance to our members to ask 5 specific questions.

 

Guten Tag meine Damen und Herren,

It is my dearest pleasure to introduce myself to you - curious reader.

Who am I and of what importance is identity in a world crowded with well-dressed apes that are struggling for attention every day? Am I what differentiates me from others even if that means to describe myself as "what you are not"?

My "me-ness" originates probably from the most part in a genetical mutation that is called Epidermolysis bullosa. While many children die of this severe skin disease I made it well past my 30s and lived a life of adventures, miracles and curiosity that was so never intended. The daily challenges that come with this disease shaped my personality. For the good and for the bad. It taught me compassion, endurance and patience but drove me bat**** crazy as well.


To round it up:

I am an enthusiastic Atheist, a studied cineaste and i do know botanic names to most trees.


Favorite Quote/Line: “Laugh, and the world laughs with you; Weep, and you weep alone; For the sad old earth must borrow its mirth, But has trouble enough of its own.” - Ella Wheeler Wilcox


1. How and why did you join DoF? I saw more in Bannerlord than it is right now. I saw all this raw potential and I needed people that would share my passion for large scale battles.

2. Favorite moment(s) in DoF? it is an ongoing journey, but here are some of my favourites:

- headshooting Bertalicious

- winning an infantry duel vs Ganni

- couching Krex

All of these totally happened.

3. Favorite book? The Parfume, The Medicus, The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, Measuring the World, Humankind: A Hopeful History.

4. Favorite movies and tv shows? Godless, all Cohen Brothers movies, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, i <3 Huckabees.

5. Favorite music? Sufjan Stevens, Portugal the man, Von wegen Lisbeth, Native Young, the last Bison, Käptn Peng.

6. Favorite food and drink? This question is too limited to describe the nutritious pleasures I assemble and devour. Cooking has been a passion of mine for many years and I rose to profound proficiency that rivals professionals.

7. Favorite color? Green.

8. Favorite time of the year? I like leap years.

9. Are you sport or esports fan and if so what are your favorite sports and teams?

Heya Heya FCA (Football Club Augsburg).

10. Do you have any pets? Sadly no pets are allowed in my flat, otherwise you would have a Dr. Doolittle in me.

11. Place you would love to travel to? Canoeing the Yukon River has been a dream of mine for quite a while.

12. Most inspiring historical figure? Leonardo da Vinci, Buddha and Napoleon - question is just what do you take from them?

Create driven like da Vinci,

but be content like Buddha,

and dare to see a bigger picture like Napoleon even if that means to make sacrifices.

13. Favorite games? Total war series, Bannerlord.

14. Describe your playing style? Smashing my head furiously at the keyboard until my foe or me are dead.

15. What will be your main class in Bannerlord? I am waiting for the right moment to introduce the Berserk class into our tactical plan. I can see myself swinging that big Axe.

 

And now we will turn to the specific questions our members had for Earl

 

16. What is your favorite day of the week and why is what Erminas would like to know.

Sunday, it s a day free of all the weeks duties and the expectations of the weekend. A day to just be.

17. Dlamans asking: Do you stockpile jars and canned food, to prepare for winter?

When the looting starts jars and cans only get you so far. So while I like having a filled fridge in my opinion it is more import to be able to defend your stash and family as well. My preferred weapon of freedom is the 88 mm Flak gun because of the impact it does to looters and scavengers.

18. Erminas is wondering If you were a character from Star Wars, which one would you be?

Probably a 60/40 mix of Yoda and Jar Jar Binks. While I like to philosophize my way through life like Yoda I also need Jar Jar to help me step back sometimes and fry my tongue off a pod racer thruster.

19. Very specific question by Viglaf: What is your favorite German word to shout out LOUD!?

Schmet - ter - ling

The fragile beauty of this word is not conveyed in German.

20. Biladinn is curious Why do you have McGreggor in your nickname?

The username Earl Mc Greggor goes back to a book I read many years ago and has a special place in my heart ever since. "The sword of King James" is a story about a fencing teacher from Tennessee who travels back in time to save his ancestral Scottish clan from colonial English injustices. A fun book about adaption.


Bonus question: Snick want to know What tips do you have on acquiring a female companion?

I'm just gonna blabber a bit ok?

1. Figure out who you actually are. What are your worst traits and more important if you are aware of them why do you endorse them as part of your self.

What are your virtues and what virtues do you appreciate in others. Because we are never complete and can always aim to become a person we ourselves would admire more.

2. Women are olfactorius beings. Freshness and a spray of a good parfume can be the scent that makes all the difference.

3. The "slacker look" that I wore through most of my 20's

- hoodie

- worn out jeans

- chucks

turned out to be shot in the knee. Women judge a man buy his clothes a lot. they think "if he can t take care of his appearance he cant control his life either." i don t agree with them but what can you do...? if you cant beat them JOIN them!

So dress up nice whatever that maybe ... ask a woman!

4. Most importantly understand who you have in front of you. Some women will be totally incompatible to you because of your principles or hers of course. All that given you can be yourself don't take yourself to serious - everybody likes to laugh and be wild.

 

What a Season opener!

Huge thanks to Earl for joining us today and for joining DoF in general!

This edition marks the start of the second season of our MMM blogs.

Thank you for reading this week's blog and now that we are back we hope to see you again

here same time next Monday.

Our next interviewee will be Beeflip, one of our NA captains!

 

If You were entertained while reading this blog please consider following us on Twitter, YouTube or Twitch. Or just sign up on our Site so that you can leave comments, likes and so much more! All the relevant links for these actions are above in the site's Header :)

72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page